Richmond voters elect two new Councillors and three new School Trustees. Mayor re-elected for seventh term.

15 October 2022

Richmond voters have elected two newcomers to Council for 2022-2026, along with three new School Trustees, to join the incumbents and Mayor who were re-elected.

Laura Gillanders and Kash Heed will join the six incumbent Councillors on Richmond City Council along with Malcolm Brodie who was re-elected as Mayor for the seventh successive term. First elected as Mayor through a by-election in 2001, Brodie previously served as Councillor from 1996 to 2001.

Incumbent Councillors Chak Au, Carol Day, Andy Hobbs, Alexa Loo, Bill McNulty, and Michael Wolfe were re-elected. Long-serving Councillors Linda McPhail and Harold Steves did not seek re-election.

Four incumbent School Trustees – Ken Hamaguchi, Heather Larson, Donna Sargent and Debbie Tablotney – were re-elected to the Richmond School Board. They will be joined by newcomers Rod Belleza, Alice Wong and David Yang. Trustees Sandra Nixon and Norman Goldstein did not seek re-election, while Richard Lee was not re-elected.

Voter turnout for the 2022 municipal election was around 25 per cent, with just over 35,000 ballots cast. Turnout in the 2018 election was almost 37 per cent. All results remain unofficial pending a final declaration by the Chief Election Officer.

Full unofficial results can be found on the City’s website at or via the 2022 Richmond Election app.