Richmond calls for submissions for Lulu Awards celebrating urban design excellence

18 January 2022

The City of Richmond’s is seeking submissions for The Lulu Awards, its urban design excellence awards program which takes place every four years. Submissions are being accepted until Monday, February 28 and the awards will be announced in the fall.

The Lulu Awards recognize, celebrate and inspire excellence in urban design in the City of Richmond. Design awards will be granted for exceptional projects that represent visionary thinking and ‘raise the bar’ for design excellence.

This year, there are 11 categories submissions may fall under:


  1. Residential (single-family, coach house or duplex, including innovative renovations)
  2. Residential (townhouse)
  3. Residential and Mixed-use (mid rise)
  4. Residential and Mixed-use (high rise)
  5. Commercial
  6. Industrial
  7. Public and Institutional Buildings

Open Space:

  1. Public and Institutional Open Space
  2. Landscape Innovation
  3. Ecological Design and Innovation
  4. Universal Design and Innovation

Private and public sector projects are eligible for an urban design award if they have been approved and completed up to five years prior to the awards year. Submissions for awards can be submitted by a project owner, a member of the team that is associated with the project, or a member of the general public.

Submissions must be received by the City of Richmond on or before 5:00 p.m. on Monday, February 28, 2022. All entries must meet submission requirements.

For more information on The Lulu Awards for urban design, including the submission requirements and entry forms, visit